gracesavedbygrace

young woman's Christian blog

Tea with Darah

1 Comment

Often we live our lives on autopilot, have you ever considered this? I take harp lessons from a friend at my church and then we sit and chat after the lesson, an important part of the Christian life is to have different forms of discipleship and that is why I enjoy meeting with her.

A couple of weeks ago Darah challenged me about what I wear. I had wanted to wear more skirts, but that idea had been forgotten for about two years, although it sounded like a good idea and I liked them, I had been living on autopilot for a while and my friend knew this.

She reminded me of my convictions that I had so conveniently forgotten about. It was easy to use excuses like, “Skirts are difficult to find”, or “I can’t get things done as quickly”. God greatly used her to help me see my laziness on this issue; I finally took action, and bought some skirts.

You may be thinking, “Well Grace I don’t think you were being lazy, you just wear pants.’’ It’s not necessarily the dress that matters, as much as the condition of our hearts, and isn’t that what true Christianity is all about, the condition of the heart?

1 Peter 3:3-4,  Do not let your adornment be merely outward—arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel— rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God. [NKJV]

We need to remember that God looks at the heart and He is concerned with the inward appearance far more than the external appearance.

Proverbs 31:30- Charm is deceptive, and beauty is passing; but a woman who fears the Lord she shall be praised. [NKJV]

This is so true in my life. It is far more important to fear the Lord than to have your hair perfect every morning. A pretty face covering a dark heart is white wash on a tomb. “True beauty is not skin deep, says Anna Sofia and Elizabeth Botkin, “but shines out of a heart overflowing with true love and beauty for Christ.”

No matter how nice I may look, I really need to focus on the condition of my heart. Am I getting ready on the inside as well as the outside in prayer and reading the Word? We need to remember who we are dressing for.

I don’t believe there is anything wrong with looking nice. What we wear matters, it shows a lot about our hearts, and once our hearts are right I know that our outside will be just as beautiful.

 

Grace

One thought on “Tea with Darah

  1. Reblogged this on prov31recipes and commented:
    Our friend Grace’s latest post.

Leave a Reply

